A Walk Is A Walk Is A Walk

Sometimes, I go out and walk with no real purpose. Not every excursion is about reviewing a trail or park. And not every post is going to be a history lesson, laced with facts and figures most people will ultimately ignore anyway. I mean, I love that stuff. (Really! I’m one of those sick people who actually enjoy research.) But sometimes it’s nice to just let the experience end with the walk itself instead of leading into a fact-finding mission.

Actually, I should rephrase that. Because the experience is never just about the walk, so it can never end with the walk. Every walk is about connecting with nature, at least on some level. Smells that stir memories, sights that heal the soul, sounds that calm the mind… Those feelings, those things, they’re all part of the experience. And they’re why, I think, walking can be so therapeutic. It’s about mindfulness, being in that place at that moment, however long it lasts. It’s a great way to get out of your head for a little while.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And sometimes I go walking because my husband wants to go fishing and I take the opportunity to tag along. But that doesn’t negate any of the benefits I spoke of. The why of the walk might influence where or when you go, and it might affect how the walk goes or who you walk with, but it doesn’t determine what you get out of it. That’s up to you.

Leave a comment